‘Superior’ Verstappen closes in on all-time F1 record after Spa win

The Dutchman overcame a penalty which left him sixth on the grid and stormed past the likes of Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton, Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc and Red Bull teammate Sergio Perez to take the lead by Lap 17, before going on to win by 23 seconds.Verstappen, who has won 10 of 12 races this season, now has eight victories in a row, moving him just once behind Sebastian Vettel's all-time tally of nine consecutive wins. Vettel’s overall record was set during his final title-winning campaign with Red Bull in 2013, beginning in Belgium and ending at that year’s finale in Brazil. Verstappen, whose…

Jump the start

Download The Racing News Online Android App